A More Humble Me

Proverbs 11:2 “When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.”

I have been thinking a lot about living a humble life and becoming a modest wife who follows diligently the wise words of Proverbs 31 which is usually referred to as The Proverbs 31 Wife. I like to think that I’m a good christian woman, a sinner who makes mistakes of course, but a christian none the less. The bible says repeatedly that we are to live humble lives. In 1 Peter 5:5 “Yes, all of you be submissive to one another, and be clothed with humility, for “God resists the proud, But gives grace to the humble.”

I personally struggle with anger and sin within that anger. The bible says in Psalm 4:4  “Be angry, and do not sin. Meditate within your heart on your bed, and be still.” This is hard! Sometimes we get so angry whether it is with our spouse, our children, or a friend and we can let that anger fester until we say something so ugly that we cannot fix it. Once it’s said, it’s said. This reminds me of  Psalm 34:13 “Keep your tongue from evil, And your lips from speaking deceit.” I am currently trying to be humble in ALL situations, including when I feel the need to argue with my husband or when my children act up. I am taking steps to do and say the right things to them in these situations. The last thing I want to do is hurt them with my words, so I am striving for humility.

Psalm 103:8 says “The Lord is merciful and gracious, Slow to anger, and abounding in mercy.” If God can look at me, a sinner, and have so much compassion that he chooses to be merciful instead of angry then who am I to react in my anger toward my loved ones? I want to live as Christ lived…humble, merciful, compassionate, gracious, full of love and light. When people see me, I want them to see Christ and know that He lives within me. This is my wish as a christian woman.

6 thoughts on “A More Humble Me

  1. The more I read your posts the more Im astounded… My husband is in the military, I homeschool and I think maybe…possibly.. not sure but there is a chance my son has Aspergers. Wow

      1. He is currently in the National Guard. We have been told to prepare as he should be getting a call within a few days to deploy. Once the call comes he will have 72 hrs to report and he will be deploying to Afghanistan.

      2. I see. My husband just got back from Afghanistan about a month and a half ago. I’m not sure how the national guard works as my husband is active duty, but I will definitely add you and your family to my prayer list. Have you been through a deployment before?

      3. He was supposed to go active duty Army a couple of times and it never got put through. He was also supposed to deploy twice before but at the last minute it got changed. Its just a wait and see now..Our military experience has not been the greatest. Its been a confusing mess since day one.

      4. I understand. My friends husband is air force reserve and she has been through similar experiences. We have been active duty for going on 6 years and he has been deployed twice and is already slotted to go again next year, but we are hoping to PCS before that. I’m sorry its been so rough for you guys, but I do understand the hurry up and wait game with the military.

Leave a Reply

