My Strength or His

“God never gives you more than you can handle.” How many times have we heard this? The other day I was doing a little bible studying outside in my most favorite spot and that crossed my mind. I really, truly, hate that statement. Here’s the skinny. It implies that WE are responsible for handling our own struggles. However, the bible has countless verses on relying on God’s strength and not our own. No where in the bible does it say that God only gives us what we can handle. The thing is we aren’t suppose to “handle” anything. Psalm 68:19 says “Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens.” It does not say that we carry our own burdens, but that God does. Exodus 15:2 says “The LORD is my strength…”. Over and over again the bible plainly states that we are to rely on God’s strength and not our own. How about we try this on for size…”I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13. Instead of saying to someone “Honey, God only gives you what you can handle.” say “Honey, you will get through this because you can do ALL things through Christ who will give you His strength.” Man is weak, but God, well, God is mighty and powerful. If I was to look for true, undeniable strength, it would be His.  

Leave a Reply

